Get Green with Style Blog



Interview with Solar Energy Expert Joe Gordon – Part 3

Solar Panels Courtesy of Solar Service, Inc.

Joe Gordon interviewed by Hilary Sopata

We’ve been interviewing solar energy expert Joe Gordon from Solar Service.  Thanks for coming back, Joe.

Becoming more aware of greener alternatives can be life-changing.  Tell us about how being eco conscious has changed both your business and personal life.

Being eco-conscious has opened up a new world for me in a renewable energy career.  I came from the computer industry, selling hardware and various services.  I made the switch to Solar Service and feel I’ve been blessed with my choice for the past six years.  It’s given me the chance to witness first-hand the green revolution that we’re seeing today from the inside out.  I feel I’m contributing to the change in people’s attitudes and beliefs about Solar, which is a very established technology and yet oftentimes misunderstood as too complex, too expensive or too ineffective in Chicago. In reality it’s really quite simple, presents the least expensive way to heat water and space and works tremendously well right here in Chicago.

 In my personal life, I feel so good about all the little things I do day in and day out that help save water and energy.  For example, I shave every day by filling the sink once versus leaving the water running.  I sat back once and calculated the amount of water I’m saving every year by doing this, and I came up with 750 gallons!  That’s about 20 bathtubs full of water by doing the most simple of things!  Believe me, I’m not a fanatic about eco-conscious, but it’s the little things that truly add up for us all.

 What is the greatest impact that going green has made on your life?

The biggest impact for going green for me has been the joy and pride I feel about myself, my family and our contributions to saving the world in our own little ways.  Just like I said a bit earlier, I look at all the little things that add up to big changes for us, things that anyone can do too such as lowering the thermostat, buying green cleaning products, supporting recycling efforts and conserving water.  Going green oftentimes will cost more in the short-run, but the good feelings of living this lifestyle last a long, long time.   

You’ve given us a lot to think about.  Thank you so much for sharing your story with us!  For more information about using solar energy in your home, please contact Joe.

Source: Interview with Joe Gordon of Solar Service, Cell: (312) 320-5205, joe@solarserviceinc.com

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Judith O. Royal says:

    Interesting comments and on a subject that I am interested for my house right now.
    I am about to buy a new furnace. I am thinking this may also be a good time to integrate solar. I am not sure how to get started. I am told, do you homework. Yes, but a decade will come and go by the time I do my homework! I need help NOW to get started.

    Personally the font size is too small. I like lots of white space, but even if you were to increase the font size, I think you would have attractive whte space.
    Font color: The info on the left in light blue is not easy to read.

    | Reply Posted 7 years, 3 months ago
    • Hi Judith! The best way for you to get started is to call Joe Gordon on his cell phone (312) 320-5205. He’s located in the Chicago area and works in the Midwestern United States. If you’re in another region, let me know and I’ll connect you with another source. Also, I’ll look into the font sizes and colors and see if we can make some adjustments. Best wishes!

      | Reply Posted 7 years, 3 months ago


Leave a Reply

