Get Green with Style Blog



Interview with Brenda Thompson of O Ecotextiles – Part 5

Brenda Thompson interviewed by Hilary Sopata, LEED AP   

We’re continuing the interview with you because you have so much to share, Brenda!  Tell us about your experience building a LEED Certified home. 

Recently, my husband and I had the opportunity to build a LEED Gold home. During this process, I learned about products that were truly “green” and beautiful, however, I had a difficult time finding fabrics that fit these criteria. I searched the showrooms to find a natural organic material (linen, cotton, hemp, bamboo, etc,) that was both beautiful and non-toxic but couldn’t find anything other than recycled polyester (which I’ve learned is a really bad choice) or something that looked like a burlap bag.  

 It was both disappointing and surprising that no one was producing eco-friendly fabrics and then I discovered O Ecotextiles website www.oecotextiles.com.  

 I was so thrilled about O Ecotextiles that I called the founders of the company and flew out to Seattle, Washington to meet them and see their fabric collection. Not only did I love the fabric collection, but also I was very impressed with both Leigh Anne VanDusens and Patty Grossmans (they’re sisters) knowledge of the industry and their commitment to producing the most beautiful and eco-friendly fabric available.

Traveling and seeing how other cultures live makes a difference too.  People in Sweden have to pay for each plastic bag at the grocery store.  It encourages them to bring their bags back to the store for reuse.  Tell us about your experience living in Europe.

Another experience that led me to being eco-conscious was living in Europe. My husband and I had the privilege of living in Germany and Spain. In Germany, they recycle everything. You are only allowed one little trashcan per week and the lid has to close tight. This was a difficult task with having a baby in diapers at the time, but it’s definitely doable if you make it a priority. The people living in Spain also had similar eco-conscious views as Germany.

 Source: Interview with Brenda Thompson of O Ecotextiles, Inc. Mobile: 616-334-3625, Email: bvthompson@att.net 

Do you have an experience to share with us about going green in other countries?  Please share it with us.

Leave a Reply

