Get Green with Style Blog



Interview with Tina Yagla – Part 1

Tina Yagla, P.E., LEED AP, interviewed by Hilary Sopata, ASID, LEED AP

I look forward to hearing from you, Tina.  To get us started, please provide your contact information.

www.yagla.com
Tina B. Yagla, P.E., LEED AP
President
Yagla Engineering Services, Inc.
3255 Hillcrest Rd
Geneva, IL  60134
630.777.9880  phone
630.845.0278  fax

Tell us about your work.

Yagla Engineering Services, Inc. (YES) was formed and incorporated in 2007.  The company is led by me.  I am a licensed professional engineer in 25 states and have over 14 years of experience in the HVAC consulting industry with my previous employment as an MEP Department Head. The firm is committed to providing our clients with quality engineering services that balance the needs of the end-user with the code requirements and best practices, while maintaining the predetermined budgetary parameters.

Yagla Engineering Services, Inc. is a small design firm with the combined experience of nearly 40 years.  Our senior level team members include Jeremie J. Schultz, P.E. and Nicholas A. Subota, Senior Electrical and Senior Mechanical engineers, respectively.  Our plumbing designer, Jeff Donovan, is also our AutoCAD technician with over 10 years experience in the engineering consulting industry.

Nick, Jeff and I have worked together at three (3) different companies and have a solid working relationship that spans nearly a decade. [I have] had the opportunity and pleasure to hire Nick and Jeff two times after working together for years.

Jeremie came to Yagla Engineering Services, through the wonders of “social networking”.   Jeremie, also a Milwaukee School of Engineering (MSOE) graduate was introduced to me by a mutual connection and MSOE grad.  Jeremie has been an asset to our team and helps to round out the full complement of MEP services.

While working together in our previous employment, our team realized that we have a great chemistry and the same dedication and determination to provide our clients with exceptional design and outstanding personal attention required to make a successful project.  From this shared dedication, I took the leap to open Yagla Engineering Services and I am pleased to have such a great team with me.

You and your team have a great history and a lot of experience.  Tell us about you personally.

After graduation from HS, I joined the USAF and was stationed at the Kolsas Nato Base in Oslo, Norway for 2 years.  My third and final year in the USAF was at Scott Air Force Base in southern Illinois.

I attended college at Milwaukee School of Engineering where I received a B.S. in Mechanical Engineering.

After graduating from college, I moved to Chicago to work as an HVAC (Heating, Ventilation, and Air Conditioning) Design Engineer.  I was at my first job for over 7 years.  The experience there was amazing and it lead me to meet two of my most valuable team members.

 Just prior to opening Yagla Engineering Services, Inc., I was the MEP Department Head at a suburban Chicago multi-disciplined firm.  That experience was instrumental in preparing me to open my business.

Yagla Engineering Services, Inc. will be 3 years ‘old’ in November and each year proves to be bigger and better than the last.  I look forward to continuing to grow the business and see what lies ahead!

I look forward to watching it happen, Tina!  Stay tuned and learn about the eco friendly angle of Tina’s business in our next post.

Source: Interview with Tina Yagla, P.E., LEED AP, President of Yagla Engineering Services, Inc.
630.777.9880  phone   www.yagla.com

Leave a Reply

