Get Green with Style Blog



Interview with Jill Salisbury – Part 3

Jill Salisbury

Jill Salisbury interviewed by Hilary Sopata

Today’s post will feature what Jill is doing to become more green in her own life. 

Jill, are you green in your personal life also?  If so in what ways?  What led you to become green?

Once I learned about the benefits of sustainability, my lifestyle has shifted completely.  Every facet of my life has been impacted as I now make educated, conscious decisions to consume healthier options whether it is food, clothing or furnishings.  I am also aware of the power of the almighty dollar and support like-minded businesses.

I continue to educate myself through organizations such as Healthy Child Healthy World [www.healthychild.org] so that my awareness of healthier and more sustainable options may constantly evolve.   This particular path has led me to the opportunity to Co-chair the Healthy Home 2010: Showcase & Tour, benefitting Healthy Child Healthy World and is being used as an educational tool for consumers, contractors and interior designers.  This project has proven to be another pivotal moment in my career which reminded me of the reason I started el: Environmental Language.  As designers, we are in a powerful position to directly impact the well-being of our clients and consumers. 

I have accepted the responsibility of setting a high standard for healthy, sustainable interiors and hopefully I will inspire others to do the same.  Passion is contagious. I witnessed it from my role models and now I want to pay it forward.

For more information about Healthy Home 2010: Showcase and Tour, please visit: www.healthyhome2010.com.

Tell us about how being eco-conscious has changed both your business and personal lives.

I have always enjoyed designing interiors and products, but once I became aware of the concept of eco-chic, my passion was engaged not only in business, but in life itself, because I feel that I have found my purpose. 

 What is the greatest impact that going green has made on your life?

My eco-conscious career path has been a journey which I never could have imagined.  I have been inspired by so many like-minded individuals along the way who are making significant contributions to improving the health of people and the planet.  I am in awe of their vision and determination and find that through my encounters with them, my own mission is rejuvenated.  I feel truly fortunate to be an affiliate of this enlightened community of leaders in the sustainable design movement. 

You are certainly a model for us all, Jill.  To our readers – I have had the opportunity to meet with Jill on several occasions.  She is an inspiration and although humble in her responses, she really has set the bar high for us all.  Please learn more about Jill, about el: Environmental Language, and about Healthy Child Healthy World.

Source: Interview with Jill Salisbury, el: Environmental Language, LLC
425 Park Barrington Drive, Barrington, IL 60010
O: 847-382-9285          F: 847-382-9311          M: 312-287-6587
jill@el-furniture.com          www.el-furniture.com

Leave a Reply

